Broad Ripple - Broad Ripple Village Association
Home PagearrowHistoryarrowBroad Ripple - Broad Ripple Village Association
Current News



Contact Us



Broad Ripple

Broad Ripple Village Association

The Broad Ripple Village Association (BRVA) is a neighborhood association for Broad Ripple Village on the north side of the City of Indianapolis, Indiana. It represents an area bounded by Kessler Boulevard on the south, Meridian Street on the west, White River on the north, and Evanston Avenue on the east. The BRVA is a volunteer association, except for the executive director position. Annual dues are paid by residents and businesses. The BRVA currently has two public meetings per year, one in the spring and one in the fall, usually held at the Indianapolis Art Center. The fall public meeting includes an election for the open spots on the board of directors.

2017 staff:
    Brooke Klejnot, Executive Director
Board of Directors:
    MARK WOLF, President
    KENT SPRINGER, Past President
    KRIS DECKER, Treasurer
    ROB FELTON, President-Elect
    SCOTT JENKINS, Director
    JOSH JOHN, Comm. Development
    GARRETT LAWTON, Director
    CHRIS MCELWEE, Director
    DOUG MORRIS, Director
    ROB SABATINI, Director
    KATE STEPHENS, Director
    CHRISTEN WALL, Secretary
    MEISHA WIDE, Director

History of the organization

The first business association in Broad Ripple was the Broad Ripple Businessmen's Association, created before 1950. The BRVA was informally organized in 1969 by a group of local business owners and managers. Sometime in the next few months, the organization was incorporated. It was registered with the Indiana Secretary of State in 1970. One of the persons behind the founding of the BRVA -- who became its first president -- was Linda (Arthur) Osborne. Linda's parents, Amos and Leola Arthur, were the owners of the Fountain Square store, Arthur's Music, and Linda managed their Broad Ripple "branch."

Past and Present Presidents:

  • Mark Wolf (2017)
  • Kent Springer (2016)
  • Elizabeth Marshall (2015)
  • Justin McKeand (2014)
  • Jay Wetzel (2013)
  • Mark Wolf (2011 - 2012)
  • Elizabeth Marshall (2009 - 2010)
  • Ellen Morley Matthews (2005 - 2008)
  • Brad King (2003 - 2004)
  • Rob Sabatini (2002 - 2003)
  • Ed Cheikh (1998 - 2001)
  • Rick Rising-Moore (1992 - 1996)
  • Van Kirby
  • Bill McLane (1988 - 1992)
  • Rush Williams
  • Linda (Arthur) Osborne (1969)

Past and Present Executive Directors & Administrative Coordinators:

  • Brooke Klejnot (2012 - present)
  • Sharon Butsch Freeland (2006 - 2012)
  • Brad Hopper (2004 - 2005)
  • Elaine Zukerman (1997 - 2006)

Copyrighted Property Of Alan Hague Site Terms